Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Searching for resources for my master's thesis
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Searching for resources for my master's thesis

Hello everyone,

first of thank you for the good site as I was able to host many nice projects by using cheap vps.

I am a malware analyst and researcher specializing in sinkholing command and control servers of malware families. My lastest reference is the paper "Vawtrak V2" in collaboration with Sophos (which was also used as the topic for my bachelor's thesis). In that project I already sinkholed the malware family Vawtrak. I received the sinkhole by a russian vps company.
It is two years now since the project and I am going to write my master's thesis in the following months.

I have the following question now and hope that you guys can help me out. I am looking again for a sinkhole of any malware family for my next project. I am pretty sure that some malware authors try to use "lowend" vps because of the cheap price and easy vm setup.

I would really like to do the same kind of research as I did last time. It seems like it is really hard to get a project by a company without having anything to offer to them. A sinkholing project like last time would really make the whole process easier and more interesting. I would also recommend the comapny in the paper as compensation.

I would be happy about a positive answer. Greetings to everyone!

Thanked by 1seaeagle

Comments

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

malwarehunter said: My lastest reference is the paper "Vawtrak V2" in collaboration with Sophos

Link: https://www.sophos.com/en-us/medialibrary/PDFs/technical papers/sophos-vawtrak-v2-sahin-wyke.pdf?la=en