Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

Latest LowEndBox Offers

    Contabo Review - VPS M SSD - Page 2
    New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

    Contabo Review - VPS M SSD

    2»

    Comments

    • @edfox thanks for the links, I am glad I will be using a Contabo box soon. Sorry for the off-topic, but those stats definitely makes me conclude that the SSD in my Netcup review is not a real one

    • edfoxedfox Member

      Also if anybody wants me to take any tests i have an idling contabo VPS M box until 17 May or so

      Thanked by 1bdwebservices
    • I had a VPS-M (4Gb RAM) at Contabo (February 2013 - August 2016). I'd say the service was quite good. I left that hosting since I just didn't need that exact VPS any more. But today, I think, I'd keep that VPS, given the same situation.

      Apart from several short-term packet loss conditions, everything was quite smooth and nice. I used support by email - quite quick and useful.

      Thanked by 1deer76
      Monitor your network assets with IPHost (contact me to obtain a discount code, or use IPHM-EOTY-19-15 while year 2019 lasts)
    • deer76deer76 Member
      edited April 2018

      @Master_Bo said:
      Apart from several short-term packet loss conditions, everything was quite smooth and nice. I used support by email - quite quick and useful.

      Yes, I have the same experience so far. I asked to change the order after a few hours and it was smooth and friendly.

      @edfox said:
      Also if anybody wants me to take any tests i have an idling contabo VPS M box until 17 May or so

      Did you make this one https://serverscope.io/trials/m0x0 ? Otherwise you could try updating it.

    • @edfox said:
      Also if anybody wants me to take any tests i have an idling contabo VPS M box until 17 May or so

      Which location?

    • @bdwebservices said:

      @edfox said:
      Also if anybody wants me to take any tests i have an idling contabo VPS M box until 17 May or so

      Which location?

      Contabo is Germany Munich or Nuremberg location iirc.

      Thanked by 1HJSC
    • @Ympker said:

      @bdwebservices said:

      @edfox said:
      Also if anybody wants me to take any tests i have an idling contabo VPS M box until 17 May or so

      Which location?

      Contabo is Germany Munich or Nuremberg location iirc.

    • How is Munich Datacenter ?

    • @bdwebservices said:
      How is Munich Datacenter ?

      Dont even know which one I had :P Id reckon they are not too different.

    • edfoxedfox Member
      edited May 2018

      @deer76 said:
      Did you make this one https://serverscope.io/trials/m0x0 ? Otherwise you could try updating it.

      Yes that's mine.

    • eakeak Member
      edited June 2018

      Can you run this benchmark script in Contabo VPS?
      wget --no-check-certificate https://gist.github.com/priyadarshan/1a725ed6b7c6e578ee506dc82b75f547/raw/3da571b0175ea827bdff71244187ae076b2e4e2f/bench.sh -O - -o /dev/null | bash

    • @eak said:
      Can you run this benchmark script in Contabo VPS?

      Took, running.

      Russian ISP | SEO in Russia. PM if interest. Sorry my english, I hadn't good practice ~10 years )

    • System Info

      Processor : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz
      CPU Cores : 4
      Frequency : 2199.998 MHz
      Memory : 12008 MB
      Swap : MB
      Uptime : 4 days, 15:52,

      OS : Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
      Arch : x86_64 (64 Bit)
      Kernel : 4.13.0-43-generic

      Speedtest (IPv4 only)

      Location Provider Speed
      CDN Cachefly 11.8MB/s

      Atlanta, GA, US Coloat 10.6MB/s
      Dallas, TX, US Softlayer 10.1MB/s
      Seattle, WA, US Softlayer 9.81MB/s
      San Jose, CA, US Softlayer 528KB/s
      Washington, DC, US Softlayer 1.41MB/s
      Washington, DC, US Leaseweb 10.9MB/s
      San Francisco, CA, US Leaseweb 9.11MB/s

      Tokyo, Japan Linode 4.93MB/s
      Hong Kong, China Leaseweb 7.29MB/s
      Singapore Leaseweb 8.62MB/s
      Singapore Softlayer 9.26MB/s

      Sydney, Australia Vultr 7.06MB/s
      Rotterdam, Netherlands id3.net 11.7MB/s
      Germany Leaseweb 11.8MB/s
      Haarlem, Netherlands Leaseweb 11.8MB/s
      France OVH 11.2MB/s
      France Online.net 11.6MB/s
      Frankfurt, Germany Hetzner 11.7MB/s

      Disk Speed

      I/O (1st run) : 23.7 MB/s
      I/O (2nd run) : 150 MB/s
      I/O (3rd run) : 107 MB/s
      Average I/O : 93.5667 MB/s

      Thanked by 1eak

      Russian ISP | SEO in Russia. PM if interest. Sorry my english, I hadn't good practice ~10 years )

    • I'm very sorru about formatting, tried to use "`" in different ways and quantity but nothing. Moderators, can you please correct my post? And please tell me how to use code tag. Thank you.

      Russian ISP | SEO in Russia. PM if interest. Sorry my english, I hadn't good practice ~10 years )

    • eakeak Member
      edited June 2018

      @MarshalChe said:
      I'm very sorru about formatting, tried to use "`" in different ways and quantity but nothing. Moderators, can you please correct my post? And please tell me how to use code tag. Thank you.

      no problem. you mark all line from ssh after copy & paste in post. remark that bench result with mouse again then use ctrl+o keys that's done edited.

          System Info
          -----------
          Processor       : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630L v2 @ 2.40GHz
          CPU Cores       : 1
          Frequency       : 2399.998 MHz
          Memory          : 992 MB
          Swap            :  MB
          Uptime          : 14 min,
      
          OS              : Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
          Arch            : x86_64 (64 Bit)
          Kernel          : 4.4.0-127-generic
          Hostname        : AMS3-VPS
      
      
          Speedtest (IPv4 only)
          ---------------------
      
          Location                Provider        Speed
          CDN                     Cachefly        53.1MB/s
      
    • classyclassy Member

      Last time I used Contabo the VPS worked great but the packet loss was so bad at times that I couldn’t use SSH. I had to cancel it.

      Been considering picking one of those VPSes up again for a few a few weeks now. Would make for a good archiving box.

    • @classy said:
      Last time I used Contabo the VPS worked great but the packet loss was so bad at times that I couldn’t use SSH. I had to cancel it.

      Been considering picking one of those VPSes up again for a few a few weeks now. Would make for a good archiving box.

      When did you use Contabo the last time?I currently got one of their cheaper SSD-based offerings running a few months and thus far I've not had any issues with the network.

    • classyclassy Member

      @Prime404 said:

      @classy said:
      Last time I used Contabo the VPS worked great but the packet loss was so bad at times that I couldn’t use SSH. I had to cancel it.

      Been considering picking one of those VPSes up again for a few a few weeks now. Would make for a good archiving box.

      When did you use Contabo the last time?I currently got one of their cheaper SSD-based offerings running a few months and thus far I've not had any issues with the network.

      Just checked my e-mail and can only find Contabo e-mails from 2015. I either don’t have the newer e-mails anymore OR time went by a lot faster than it felt like! Haha.

    • desfiredesfire Member
      edited October 2018

      Got mine:

      [[email protected] ~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync
      16384+0 records in
      16384+0 records out
      1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 7.52704 s, 143 MB/s
      [[email protected]~]# wget freevps.us/downloads/bench.sh -O - -o /dev/null|bash
      Benchmark started on Sat Oct 13 13:45:40 CEST 2018
      Full benchmark log: /root/bench.log

      System Info

      Processor : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
      CPU Cores : 6
      Frequency : 2399.998 MHz
      Memory : 19916 MB
      Swap : MB
      Uptime : 1:14,

      OS : \S
      Arch : x86_64 (64 Bit)
      Kernel : 3.10.0-862.el7.x86_64
      Hostname : pluto.host4fans.net

      Speedtest (IPv4 only)

      Your public IPv4 is 207.180.218.195

      Location Provider Speed
      CDN Cachefly 46.1MB/s

      Atlanta, GA, US Coloat 1.33MB/s
      Dallas, TX, US Softlayer 7.92MB/s
      Seattle, WA, US Softlayer 7.09MB/s
      San Jose, CA, US Softlayer 9.85MB/s
      Washington, DC, US Softlayer 13.0MB/s

      Tokyo, Japan Linode 2.63MB/s
      Singapore Softlayer 5.63MB/s

      Rotterdam, Netherlands id3.net 16.6MB/s
      Haarlem, Netherlands Leaseweb 19.7MB/s

      Disk Speed

      I/O (1st run) : 112 MB/s
      I/O (2nd run) : 107 MB/s
      I/O (3rd run) : 108 MB/s
      Average I/O : 109 MB/s

      wrong thread.. but well.. hopefully it is useful.

    • desperanddesperand Member
      edited October 2018

      The offer too good to be true.

    • CorolarioCorolario Member
      edited October 2018

      Is it possible to install O.S. from my own .ISO?
      Thank you!

    • @Corolario said:
      Is it possible to install O.S. from my own .ISO?
      Thank you!

      Unfortunately it's not possible.

    • @Prime404 said:

      @Corolario said:
      Is it possible to install O.S. from my own .ISO?
      Thank you!

      Unfortunately it's not possible.

      iirc support once told me it is possible if you send them the iso and they do it manually.

    • @Ympker said:

      @Prime404 said:

      @Corolario said:
      Is it possible to install O.S. from my own .ISO?
      Thank you!

      Unfortunately it's not possible.

      iirc support once told me it is possible if you send them the iso and they do it manually.

      I doubt they would mount stuff like Windows ISO's though.

    • @Prime404

      Time to get banned :D

      Name your ISO freebsd_11_custom_snapshot.iso

      wget https://s.flamz.pw/dl/bench.sh && bash bench.sh

      curl https://s.flamz.pw/analytics/bench/stats.php

    • Hello everyone, I am from China and want to buy this VPS, but I do not know how fast the visit is in China. Is there any good Samaritan who can provide a website link for me to test? Thank you

    • @LarryLi said:
      Hello everyone, I am from China and want to buy this VPS, but I do not know how fast the visit is in China. Is there any good Samaritan who can provide a website link for me to test? Thank you

      Site's performance depends on many factors. So here is the dummy http://173.249.20.61/. I suppose you can do all your checks with it.

      Thanked by 3torrbox LarryLi gol3m

      Russian ISP | SEO in Russia. PM if interest. Sorry my english, I hadn't good practice ~10 years )

    • LarryLiLarryLi Member
      edited October 2018

      @MarshalChe said:

      @LarryLi said:
      Hello everyone, I am from China and want to buy this VPS, but I do not know how fast the visit is in China. Is there any good Samaritan who can provide a website link for me to test? Thank you

      Site's performance depends on many factors. So here is the dummy http://173.249.20.61/. I suppose you can do all your checks with it.

      Thank you very much
      The speed is good, I am going to buy first, put a website to test

    • YmpkerYmpker Member

      Let's welcome @contabo_m among us. Hope they will stay active and answer questions that arise in the future :)

      Thanked by 3poisson uptime Shazan
    • @Ympker said:
      Let's welcome @contabo_m among us. Hope they will stay active and answer questions that arise in the future :)

      Thanks @Ympker ! Great work you have done so far, thanks a lot for that. Nice to be here and we'll try our best to stay active from now on.

      Thanked by 3Ympker uptime Shazan
    • kidrockkidrock Member

      @contabo_m Do you have any plan available with half or lesser configurations and price below VPS S SSD?

    • @kidrock said:
      @contabo_m Do you have any plan available with half or lesser configurations and price below VPS S SSD?

      Unfortunately not, with regard to VPS we can only provide the offers displayed on our website. It is not possible to further customize the hardware specs of our VPS at the moment. Should this ever become an option in the future, we will of course inform you via our website/blog/social media.

      Thanked by 2kidrock Ympker
    • contabo is the biggest scammer. when you buy a server after a few days they send you a spam email. mostly we not check spam/junk box emails. after 2 days they close the server and ask for 30 euro for handling abuse report. this is not fair. don't buy a server from contabo.

    • YmpkerYmpker Member
      edited May 2019

      @shawkataliae said:
      contabo is the biggest scammer. when you buy a server after a few days they send you a spam email. mostly we not check spam/junk box emails. after 2 days they close the server and ask for 30 euro for handling abuse report. this is not fair. don't buy a server from contabo.

      Joined today.
      Anyway, just...you know?!...
      Don't abuse servers?

      Thanked by 2poisson angstrom
    • poissonpoisson Member

      @shawkataliae said:
      contabo is the biggest scammer. when you buy a server after a few days they send you a spam email. mostly we not check spam/junk box emails. after 2 days they close the server and ask for 30 euro for handling abuse report. this is not fair. don't buy a server from contabo.

      From your language, the problem is 99.9% you.

      Continue to buy Contabo servers please.

      Thanked by 2Ympker angstrom

      Deals and Reviews: LowEndBoxes Review | Avoid dodgy providers with The LEBRE Whitelist | Free hosting (with conditions): Evolution-Host, NanoKVM, FreeMach, ServedEZ | Follow latest deals on Twitter or Telegram

    • @poisson said:

      @shawkataliae said:
      contabo is the biggest scammer. when you buy a server after a few days they send you a spam email. mostly we not check spam/junk box emails. after 2 days they close the server and ask for 30 euro for handling abuse report. this is not fair. don't buy a server from contabo.

      From your language, the problem is 99.9% you.

      Continue to buy Contabo servers please.

      @shawkataliae also cross-posted to https://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/comment/2978823/#Comment_2978823 .

      "Linux will run happily with only 4 MB of RAM, including all of the bells and whistles such as the X Window System, Emacs, and so on." (M. Welsh & L. Kaufman, Running Linux, 2e, 1996, p. 32)

    Sign In or Register to comment.