Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS LAMP Security - Is my way right?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS LAMP Security - Is my way right?

ReyRey Member
edited February 2017 in Help

Hello everyone,
I'm not an expert sys and every day I try to learn new things specially for the security so this is what I did (Debian 8 minimal):

• No root login

BASIC FIREWALL

iptables -P INPUT DROP
iptables -P FORWARD DROP

iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT

iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
iptables -A OUTPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT

iptables -A INPUT -p icmp --icmp-type echo-reply -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p icmp --icmp-type echo-request -j ACCEPT

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -m multiport --destination-ports 22,80,443 -j ACCEPT

• Proftpd with chroot in the user's home

• Apache 2.4 with lets encrypt

• Php5

expose_php=Off
log_errors=On
error_log=/var/log/mylog/php_scripts_error.log
file_uploads=Off
allow_url_fopen=Off
allow_url_include=Off

disable_functions = I don't know what put here, what do you suggest? At the moment there are these:

pcntl_alarm,pcntl_fork,pcntl_waitpid,pcntl_wait,pcntl_wifexited,pcntl_wifstopped,pcntl_wifsignaled,pcntl_wexitstatus,pcntl_wtermsig,pcntl_wstopsig,pcntl_signal,pcntl_signal_dispatch,pcntl_get_last_error,pcntl_strerror,pcntl_sigprocmask,pcntl_sigwaitinfo,pcntl_sigtimedwait,pcntl_exec,pcntl_getpriority,pcntl_setpriority,

• Php5-FPM

SetHandler "proxy:unix:/var/run/php5-fpm/mydomain.com.sock|fcgi://localhost/"
Server API FPM/FastCGI

So the file are executed with the user.

• Mysql 5.5 with mysql_secure_installation

• Fail2ban

Other things? Thanks

Thanked by 1WSS

Comments

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran