Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Which to choose - CentOS 32 or Debian 64 bit?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Which to choose - CentOS 32 or Debian 64 bit?

netbearnetbear Member
edited January 2012 in Help

I am new to this VPS arena & i have taken a 512 MB Ram box (Open VZ) to host my blog that receives around 25k-30k/ day visitors with 75k page views /day.
99% of the content is pure text & will run on Wordpress.

Now im caught in a situation on which Linux distro to install.The hosting company provides CentOS 6.0 32 bit, Ubuntu 64 bit & Debian 6 64 bit.I have heard people here as well in LEB say that debian consumes less RAM compared to other distros mentioned above.

1) Which to choose, considering the amount of traffic i receive.
2) If I choose 64 bit debian or Ubuntu, is it possible to downgrade to 32 bit versions incase the hosting company adds them at a later date?

Your suggestions are those I look for!

Comments

• Just ask them to add debian 6 32bit template?

• They hv said they wont be adding it...Dont know the reason why.

• And in that case... do you absolutely have to stay with that host?

By the way if they have a debian 5 32bit template then you can install that and then upgrade it to debian 6 yourself.

• Apart from this OS choices, they have good specs given to me.They dont have any Debian releases apart from the Debian 6 64 bit.

So im not thinking of moving from them.Let me know which OS to opt , from he choices given..

• Normally you should choose whichever OS you are most comfortable with managing. I would personally prefer debian. Of course 64bit may waste some memory (compared to 32bit), but if you fit in your allocation then that shouldn't be a problem.

• netbearnetbear Member