Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Questions about speed
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Questions about speed

ykbaekykbaek Member
edited May 2013 in General

Hi,
I am a noob at this whole VPS options, so please help me out.
I have been using web hosting for the last 3 years for my community forum site and it has grown size
and with my big hosting site, it is slow and i get cpu throttled a lot.

I am planning on moving to the next level of VPS,
but got questions. I am in Canada and when I check some of the VPS sellers here and click on their 100mb test files
some companies are really fast, like 40sec for 100mb but some are slower.
then again I check the ones in Chicago and they are very fast too. but the ones in LA is slower.

My question here is, if the download test speed is fast for me, does it mean its going to be fast for my users too?
most of them are from my area as it is area specific forum. I dont understand how most of the test files from Chicago VPS can
be as fast as the ones from Canada yet others from LA or NY is slow for me.

My only reason for upgrading to VPS is because of the slow speed, I get cpu throttled a lot and its really really slow.
so please let me know if it is okay to choose provider comparing them with the 100mb file download speed.
(obviously other factors about specification but all I really care about is increase in speed! my users started complaining)

Thank you always

Comments

• shovenoseshovenose Member, Host Rep

Thing is, let's say you compare two VPS providers.
    Provider A:
    -Fast download speed
    -But CPU is oversold or slow disk IO
    Provider B
    -Slow download speed
    -Underutilized/fast CPU and IO...

Provider B is going to perform better in almost all cases.