Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need cheap VPS for development purpose
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need cheap VPS for development purpose

I need a VPS with at least 8GB Ram, 8GB Swap, 120GB Storage (SSD preferred), 4 Cores (fair share).
This server will mainly be used to build Android roms.
I don't need much bandwidth or uptime guarantee as no end product will be hosted on the server. Only development apps/websites will be hosted. I am a college student so my budget is very tight. Location of the server doesn't really matter because no end product will be hosted.
I'll be building rom once in a week (that too if I get enough time) so the VPS will stay nearly idle for most of the time but use most of the resources available when build is running.

ps I need high storage because stupid android requires 100gb space to compile a 500mb rom :(

Comments

• location ?

• @cociu said:
    location ?

As I said in the op, "Location of the server doesn't really matter because no end product will be hosted." I am from India so if it comes down to location then I'll prefer Asia but it doesn't really matter much.

• williewillie Member
    edited January 2017

scaleway.com/pricing -- 8gb ram, 6 (slow) cores, 200gb ssd, for 5 eurocents an hour (10 euro/month). You can switch off the cpu and network while keeping the disk image alive if you want. The disk chunks (4x 50gb) are 1 euro/month each, also hourly billed. So you can pay 4 euro/month for the disk space if you want to keep it active, while only paying for the cpu and network while you're actually using it.

As mentioned this box uses Atom cores which are individually quite slow, but there are 6 cores so if you can do parallel builds, it's not too bad.