Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

First Linux VPS provider?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

First Linux VPS provider?

raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran
edited November 2012 in General

I'm working on an article and wanted to include a date when Linux was first offered on VPSes.

I got my fist VPS from Slicehost in 2005 or so. Anyone know when the first Linux VPS was offered?

Comments

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran

I would like to know too, got my first "off-home" box about 2006.

• Very interesting...I was playing with VM's back in 2004-2005.

• KuJoeKuJoe Member, Host Rep

I'm a newb. My first Linux/VPS experience was with HostV on 12/23/07.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

I know virtualization for Linux has been around for a long time...I was wondering about the first consumer service to the public.

• Probably something with Virtuozzo.

• I remember using VMWare ESX/ESXi many years ago on a spare server I had at home. It would have probably been between 2005/2006.

• ServInt started offering Virtuozzo VPSs in 2003. I got one in early 2004. At that time there wasn't a lot of providers... another one was Dinix (dinix.com), which crashed and burned a year or so later. Maybe the first deadpool :)

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran

@sleddog said: ServInt started offering Virtuozzo VPSs in 2003. I got one in early 2004. At that time there wasn't a lot of providers... another one was Dinix (dinix.com), which crashed and burned a year or so later. Maybe the first deadpool :)

I really miss that Thank buton :(
    Please...

• kbeeziekbeezie Member
    edited November 2012