Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

HELP! can't connect to VNC with a shared IP/NAT?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

HELP! can't connect to VNC with a shared IP/NAT?

Please be patient, I'm a noob.

Hi,

I bought a VPS from natvps.uk who offer 20 NAT IPV4 ports + /96 IPV6, So basically I have 1 Public IPv4 address that everyone uses, with my own Local IP. To SSH I get generated a Username and Password and connect to that Public IP using those details. I have set up the TightVNC server however I cannot connect to the server as I have a shared IP. Is there any workaround?

BTW: I'm running debian 7

Comments

• Forwarded ports are randomly closed, and good luck with not getting suspended for cpu :(

Thanked by 1TinyTunnel_Tom
  • AnthonySmithAnthonySmith Member, Patron Provider

Did you set your VNC server to listen on one of your allocated ports?

You can connect you just use the shared IP + your ports.

No offence but I dont understand why people find this concept so hard, its exactly the same way a home router and PC work and that has been common since 1999 (ish) your router holds the external (SHARED) IP and if you want to connect to your home pc/laptop etc you forward the ports on your router.

Thanked by 1Lm85H4gFkh3wk3
  • @AnthonySmith said:
    Did you set your VNC server to listen on one of your allocated ports?

You can connect you just use the shared IP + your ports.

No offence but I dont understand why people find this concept so hard, its exactly the same way a home router and PC work and that has been common since 1999 (ish) your router holds the external (SHARED) IP and if you want to connect to your home pc/laptop etc you forward the ports on your router.