Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

Micro VKS @ OVH "review"

Micro VKS @ OVH "review"

MuZoMuZo Member
edited July 2012 in General

I just got a free vps by ovh: http://www.kimsufi.co.uk/vks/geovks.xml

When ordering I selected Hong Kong, I read that

"Please not that depending on the test needs, it's possible that you get your vKS in a POP other than the one you requested."

But guess where I got the vps located? Canada.

it isn't even on their pop list:

Newark Available Chicago Available Milano Available Paris Available Frankfurt Available Madrid Available Dallas Available Hong Kong Available San Jose Available

It's written that vpses are 10Mbps bandwidth limited...

I just done a bench

CPU model : AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 6172 Number of cores : 1 CPU frequency : 2100.024 MHz Total amount of ram : 128 MB Total amount of swap : 128 MB System uptime : 8 min, Download speed from CacheFly: 7.67MB/s Download speed from Linode, Atlanta GA: 4.33MB/s Download speed from Linode, Dallas, TX: 13.7MB/s Download speed from Linode, Tokyo, JP: 8.29MB/s Download speed from Linode, London, UK: 4.40MB/s Download speed from Leaseweb, Haarlem, NL: 10.4MB/s Download speed from Softlayer, Singapore: 2.18MB/s Download speed from Softlayer, Seattle, WA: 11.8MB/s Download speed from Softlayer, San Jose, CA: 29.9MB/s Download speed from Softlayer, Washington, DC: 7.30MB/s I/O speed : 125 MB/s

all over 10mpbs, port is even over 100mpbs. Good I/O speed !

anyway mail port blocked as written, didn't tested udp ports

Processor: > processor : 0 vendor_id : AuthenticAMD cpu family : 16 model : 2 model name : AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 6172 stepping : 3 cpu MHz : 2100.024 cache size : 512 KB physical id : 0 siblings : 4 core id : 0 cpu cores : 4 apicid : 0 initial apicid : 0 fpu : yes fpu_exception : yes cpuid level : 5 wp : yes flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good tsc_reliable nonstop_tsc unfair_spinlock pni cx16 popcnt hypervisor lahf_lm extapic abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw bogomips : 4200.04 TLB size : 1024 4K pages clflush size : 64 cache_alignment : 64 address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual power management:

EDIT: my vps has canadian IP but it's located in San Jose

Tagged:
«13

Comments

  • tuxtux Member

    I orderded one from Frankfurt, but I got one from Ghigago.

  • Thank you for sharing :) I was just registered yesterday, and didn't habe time to play yet. Will it stay free forever?

    My blog | Server Uptime | I'm not working for any providers in here, all my comments just my own opinion.image
  • pcanpcan Member

    I ordered one in Milan, and I got one in San Jose. The IP address is always Canadian, to check the real location a ping test is needed. Disk speed is good.

    dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync 16384+0 records in 16384+0 records out 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 8.58831 s, 125 MB/s

  • rds100rds100 Member

    So it's like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get ;-)

    Thanked by 1Infinity
  • I ordered in Hongkong, and they give me the one in Hongkong. But will it be free forever?

    My blog | Server Uptime | I'm not working for any providers in here, all my comments just my own opinion.image
  • My blog | Server Uptime | I'm not working for any providers in here, all my comments just my own opinion.image
    Thanked by 1Liam
  • JarJar Member

    Pretty fair bandwidth test there. What's with the San Jose speed? Isn't it 100mbit?

  • I signed up for china..and got canada.

    Disclosure: I work for Query Foundry LLC.
    I own DA International Group Ltd.
  • edited July 2012
    My blog | Server Uptime | I'm not working for any providers in here, all my comments just my own opinion.image
    Thanked by 1Liam
  • lbftlbft Member

    @ErawanArifNugroho said: But will it be free forever?

    Nobody knows exactly what's going on, not even OVH. Last I heard they were saying that they don't know whether it will be free forever, whether it will continue at all, and whether it will ever be a commercial offering.

    They set these up to have some traffic flowing through their new international POPs to test out the routing. I get the feeling they were caught by surprise that people wanted VPSes that small for anything other than a toy.

    Thanked by 1ErawanArifNugroho
  • Requested HK, got Canada.

  • JarJar Member

    Got one in Dallas. Instant setup, but I guess because I've already verified my account previously?

  • @jarland said: I've already verified my account previously?

    I'm an existing customer, mine was instant setup too.

    Few hour wait is probably a security/fraud screening, which I had to do back when I signed up.

  • earlearl Member

    picked San Jose and got Canada

  • subigosubigo Member

    I've got so many free/$1 vps accounts over the last month it's ridiculous.

  • zserozsero Member

    How do you know where is the one you get? Using some geo-traceroute?

  • @subigo said: I've got so many free/$1 vps accounts over the last month it's ridiculous.

    :D

    My blog | Server Uptime | I'm not working for any providers in here, all my comments just my own opinion.image
  • earlearl Member
    edited July 2012

    @zsero said: How do you know where is the one you get? Using some geo-traceroute?

    just put your ip there..

    http://www.domaintools.com/

    Have to say the VPS is pretty snappy!!!

  • zserozsero Member

    @earl said: just put your ip there..

    http://www.domaintools.com/

    Have to say the VPS is pretty snappy!!!

    But all it says is the IP Location: Canada Montreal Ovh Hosting Inc.

    How do I know where is the actual server?

  • earlearl Member

    well the server would be in montreal canada..

  • tuxtux Member

    @zsero said: But all it says is the IP Location: Canada Montreal Ovh Hosting Inc.

    How do I know where is the actual server?

    If you look whois details below this information, you can see something like this:

    CustName: OVH SAS Address: 350 E Cermak Road City: Chicago StateProv: IL PostalCode: 60616 Country: US RegDate: 2012-06-20 Updated: 2012-06-20 Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/customer/C03091171

  • zserozsero Member

    That's the exact thing I have. Canada at the location and Chicago in the CustName.

  • zserozsero Member

    And the tracert is totally crazy, it goes like France, France, France, France, France, Canada, Canada.

  • Someone visit : http://www.domaintools.com/

    This is the first time they're like this. lol

    My blog | Server Uptime | I'm not working for any providers in here, all my comments just my own opinion.image
  • NanoG6NanoG6 Member
    edited July 2012

    image

    but http://whois.domaintools.com/ works fine though

  • earlearl Member

    hmm.. it's working fine for me??

  • zserozsero Member

    It seems to be actually in Canada, as a long apt-spy test found debian.yorku.ca to be the best server.

  • earlearl Member

    @zsero said: It seems to be actually in Canada, as a long apt-spy test found debian.yorku.ca to be the best server.

    Just curious, where did you think the server would be?

  • zserozsero Member
    edited July 2012

    I've read somewhere that all their VPS-es are reported as in Canada because of some DNS stuff. That's why I was surprised. Also I've signed up for Frankfurt and I have FR in my control panel.

  • earlearl Member
    edited July 2012

    @zsero said: Also I've signed up for Frankfurt and I have FR in my control panel.

    you can sign up for 2 VPS under the same account?? would like to get one in HK

  • LESLES Member
    edited July 2012

    This offer is limited to 1 micro vKS per customer (1 POP per customer). The server must be renewed manually every month in your manager.

    Please not that depending on the test needs, it's possible that you get your vKS in a POP other than the one you requested.

    Cheap VPS Deals ★★★ LowEndStock.com - 550+ offers! ★★★ http://twitter.com/Lowendstock

  • earlearl Member

    @LES

    Yeah I remember reading something like that.. oh well

  • Got a vKS in Milan right now, ping if you would like: 176.31.171.162

  • earlearl Member

    176.31.171.162 seems to be in france 198.245.52.68 seems to be in montreal canada

  • @earl, No your looking at the IP whois location; Which indeed is incorrect. Server is physically located in Milan POP.

    5 * 26 ms * amsix.routers.ovh.net [195.69.145.231] < AMS 6 43 ms * 26 ms ams-5-6k.nl.eu [94.23.122.229] < AMS 7 36 ms 33 ms 33 ms rbx-g2-a9.fr.eu [94.23.122.189] < Roubaix 8 * 42 ms 40 ms fra-5-6k.fr.eu [178.33.100.255] < France 9 48 ms * 47 ms mil-5-6k.it.eu [91.121.128.34] << MILAN! 10 52 ms 48 ms 48 ms mil-3-4m.it.eu [91.121.215.203] << MILAN! 11 50 ms 49 ms 49 ms vhost1062.ip-176-31-171.eu [176.31.171.242] << NODE 12 94 ms 48 ms 48 ms vks16043.ip-176-31-171.eu [176.31.171.162]

  • earlearl Member
    edited July 2012

    Ahh..yes you guys are right mil=milan & nj=newjersey.. so they did provisoned my VPS in san jose.. but unfortunatley hulu does not work with the ip, guess it based on the who is info??

  • zserozsero Member
    edited July 2012

    @earl said: you can sign up for 2 VPS under the same account?? would like to get one in HK

    I mean also as "more information", no I've only signed up for one.

    Thanked by 1earl
  • KairusKairus Member
    edited July 2012

    Have all of you had a service w/ OVH prior? Or are some of you new sign ups? I don't want to have to send them all kinds of information for a free test VPS (scans of driver's license and other proof, etc) - or is that not a problem usually?

  • @Kairus said: Have all of you had a service w/ OVH prior? Or are some of you new sign ups? I don't want to have to send them all kinds of information for a free test VPS (scans of driver's license and other proof, etc) - or is that not a problem usually?

    I got one of the free BHS servers and a Dallas vKS with no prior services or having to send off any ID.

    "We are in a prison drama. This is like The Shawshank Redemption, only with more tunneling through shit and no fucking redemption."
  • earlearl Member

    I did a new sign up..and no they did not request any form of ID

  • MikHoMikHo Member

    I signed up for one in hong kong, expecting my first asian bit got one in nj. I opened a ticket with support, requesting to be moved to HK. Their respons was "according to your account, you are in HK". Well, traceroute doesn't lie? In my manager it also says tjat geoip would report FR.

    http://www.lowendguide.com/ - the guides to administer your lowend vps | Make money writing tutorials
    Free CPanel Shared Hosting Locations: Miami (US) | Rotterdam (NL)
  • MuZoMuZo Member

    @zsero said: And the tracert is totally crazy, it goes like France, France, France, France, France, Canada, Canada.

    Traceroute to mine that is on San Jose goes through germany, france, germany, france, united kingdom, usa.

  • MuZoMuZo Member

    @MikHo

    on my manager there is even written FR, but my IP is canadian and my vps in san jose

  • MikHoMikHo Member

    @muzo That could be my case also, never bothered to check since I lost interest when I didn't recieve what I wanted

    http://www.lowendguide.com/ - the guides to administer your lowend vps | Make money writing tutorials
    Free CPanel Shared Hosting Locations: Miami (US) | Rotterdam (NL)
  • kendidkendid Member

    Tried several times to get one -- kept getting some kind of error about not being able to process :( Oh well....

  • earlearl Member

    @kendid

    I had that error, then I signed up at ovh.co.uk then it worked

  • kendidkendid Member

    @earl Are you in the UK? Seemed the only country 'pull-down' was for England/UK

  • earlearl Member
    edited July 2012

    @kendid

    not from the uk.. but I signed up at every other ovh and kept getting the error so I figure I might as well try..I used the same address for the co.uk location as I did when I signed up for the .eu and .com and yeah I went with uk for the location as there was no other option

Sign In or Register to comment.