Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

An obviously rare, positive review of GVH
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

An obviously rare, positive review of GVH

I was browsing several of the "low end" sites comparing various VPS deals, and I saw what looked like a great deal for a 1GB RAM VPS with 3 static IPs for $12.00/year provided by Green Value Hosting. For me, this turned out to be an excellent offer.

Background:
I am VERY new to the VPS world, but I am not new to Web hosting. I've been an IT geek for over 25 years, and I have designed and managed several hobby and client Web sites since the late 90's. Yes, I have read the vast number of negative posts about GVH here and elsewhere, and yes, despite that, I took a risk. But I thought, what the Hell, for $12.00, it's a minor write-off if it fails.

Intended use:
My use for these VPS instances is NOT for production use. I want to use these as simple test boxes so that I can become more adept at Linux and Ubuntu system management.

Since purchasing two instances, I have installed and re-installed CentOS and Ubuntu several times, some due to application installation issues, and others because I simply FUBAR'd the instances. In all cases, an OS re-install took just a couple minutes, and I was always back in business quickly.

My experience:
So I signed up for a VPS located in Buffalo under GVH's "June VPS special 4" promo. 9 hours later, I received an information email, and I was logged in with PuTTY. Things seemed peppy, and I was very happy with the performance and responsiveness. (Sorry, no benchmarking, just simple "gut" feelings based on my frequent experiences with SSH to a DreamHost shared hosting node.) Shell and Web access was excellent in comparison.