Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

298 Failed Login Attempts on France Dedi SSH
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

298 Failed Login Attempts on France Dedi SSH

Should I be concerned??! This is my FIRST time logging to my new Dedi via SSH since it was setup this morning. So These 298 Failed Logins have happened in the last 5 hours. Should I worry and get a new IP? or what I have NEVER had this issue before on any Dedi or VPS I have had.

Last failed login: Tue Aug 19 16:43:12 CEST 2014 from 211.190.x.xx on ssh:notty
There were 298 failed login attempts since the last successful login.

Comments

• Change your SSH port and install Fail2Ban.

• HuntersPadHuntersPad Member
    edited August 2014

How woul> @rethinkvps said:

Change your SSH port and install Fail2Ban.

How would i go about changing SSH port?

Wow... I just noticed the last failed IP is from the Republic of Korea lol

• I would keep the same ssh port but thats just personally but fail2ban works great also use ssh keys and not passwords.

• hyelton said: How would i go about changing SSH port?

Google "Change SSH port YOUROS" and it will be the first result.

• wychwych Member

How would i go about changing SSH port?

Hire someone who can admin the system if you are unsure else this is going to end badly for you.

• @wych said:
    Hire someone who can admin the system if you are unsure else this is going to end badly for you.

I have been running a few dedicated servers and VPS`s for a year now with heavy traffic websites and NOT once have I ran into anything like this.

I`m a person not a business I cant just afford to pay someone, I barely make enough with AdSense to pay for the server.

• @hyelton said: