Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Cloud File CDN Questions
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Cloud File CDN Questions

DH22DH22 Member

I am a total newb when it comes to CDNs and have some questions. Specifically I am wondering if it is possible to do what I describe below and if so which CDN to use.

I host game servers in several locations. The game server configuration lets you put in an http location for those connecting to the server to download maps. So if use http://example.com/mapfiles/ it will look for map files in that directory.

Is it possible for any CDN to work in this way, so that if a request comes for http://example.com/mapfiles/name.map it will serve the file from the nearest server? All the map files have to be in the same directory so the server can find them. It is a small community so players from all over the world play on the same servers. It would be nice if they could at least download maps fast by getting them from nearby servers.

I looked at Amazon CloudFront and Rackpace Cloud Files, but was hoping someone could provide some quick feedback here rather than me try to sign up for various CDNs and see if they work the way I need them to. Thanks.

Comments

• wychwych Member

They should yes, but depending on the CDN it may not cache your files on a local node till they are requested, some also have limits on the filesizes they may cache.

• DH22DH22 Member
    edited May 2014