Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS referral for development class.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS referral for development class.

Later I'll be teaching a free class on web development. Students need a VPS, so I want to offer a suggestion or two.

Has to be affordable because they are college students. I'm a student too, so I could use some cash or free service from it.

Also, I'd love to try reselling. Maybe now is the time. Is it too much work? I'd love a detailed guide.

Comments

• ztecztec Member

buy a dedicated server. Resell.

• What location?

• noahnoah Member

@ztec Thanks. Don't know how.

• Awmusic12635Awmusic12635 Member, Host Rep
    edited April 2014

Well there are a few different types of reselling at the basic level.

1. Promocode:

You have your own billing system and take orders from clients. Once they pay you, you use a special promocode given to you by the person you are reselling from that gives you a certain percentage off their services. You just mark your price up higher.

Pros:

No upfront cost

Cons:

Not automated

Client doesn't get access to VPS control panel

1. Affiliate

You signup for an affiliate program at a company using your unique link you get people to sign up for the company via your link, you then get a cut.

Pros:

No cost to you

Cons:

Typically have a minimum withdraw value

Generally need a decent amount of referrals to make good money

1. Resource based