Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I want run a wordpress site. Which OS should i use?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

I want run a wordpress site. Which OS should i use?

Centos 6 or ubuntu

Comments

• Awmusic12635Awmusic12635 Member, Host Rep

Whichever OS is easiest for you.

Thanked by 1AuroraZ
  • I'm still learning linux this is my first year

• CharlesACharlesA Member
    edited February 2014

The OS doesn't matter as far as security goes, especially with web applications.

As long as you keep wordpress up-to-date and keep backups, you will be fine no matter what OS you run, provided you secure that OS - restrict ssh access, etc.

Use whatever you are most familiar with.

• ubuntu

• netomxnetomx Moderator, Veteran

ubuntu is by far the easiest to manage

• alright i will give ubuntu a try

• Debian.

• why Debian?

@budi1413 said:
    Debian.

• @budi1413 said:
    Debian.

+1 on the debian

@lukenstine said:
    why Debian?

>

dont get me wrong there are lots of other good os's out there. I find debian to be a happy middle ground between ubuntu and centos with backage version numbers. Also anytime that debian install is getting a little to old package wise you can always update to the sid branch which has the newest testing packages. Also its been a while since i tired it in ubuntu but in debian its not a nitemare to upgrade to the next version from the prevouse one but really i recommend learning configeration mangment so u can just fresh install.

• I see a lot of threads like this where most people will reply with their recommendations to the OP's question and yet offer no justification whatsoever.

When you say for example Debian or CentOS or Ubuntu, tell us why you think so!