Scam, or no scam?
  • What do you think about this Hetzner/OVH/LeaseWeb reseller? Legit?

    http://www.getsimplistic.com/

  • It's interesting that they're selling Kimsufi servers for less than Kimsufi sells Kimsufi's servers....

    Low-cost VPS at IPXcore with awesome support.

  • In a live-chat conversation they told me they had some special discounts from OVH, als they order without VAT, which knocks 20% off of the price.

  • Ah, there you go then. That's hell of a price difference by percentage.

    Low-cost VPS at IPXcore with awesome support.

  • But yes, they have a very slick looking website, two business addresses, and live-chat staff who speak perfect fluent English, in good grammar. I'll report back when/if they setup my Kimsufi 2G

  • @birdie25 said: But yes, they have a very slick looking website, two business addresses, and live-chat staff who speak perfect fluent English, in good grammar. I'll report back when/if they setup my Kimsufi 2G

    Neither of those are business addresses or legitimate.

    2, Ayios Pavlos & Kadmos Street Wisdom Tower, 3rd Floor Nicosia 1105 Cyprus -- Cyprus company prices | Register a cyprus company, offshore,

    3500 South DuPont Highway -- Delaware INCORPORATE CHEAP USA Company Contact Us - Incorporate in Delaware Nevada Incorporating ...

    I'm curious as to how they're evading VAT with a UK phone number

  • There's always dispute if something goes south

    @justinb I sherlocked some myself too, found that too.

  • @justinb said: 2, Ayios Pavlos & Kadmos Street Wisdom Tower, 3rd Floor Nicosia 1105 Cyprus -- Cyprus company prices | Register a cyprus company, offshore,

    OMG Constantinos xD

  • @yomero said: OMG Constantinos xD

    HostFail FTW

  • @yomero said: OMG Constantinos xD

    lol, my first thoughts. :)
    For those which don't know, Constantinos was HostFai... erm HostRail "CEO".

    On a serious note this company address is somewhat fake anyway and belongs to "comprehensive team of highly professional lawyers, accountants and tax consultants based in Cyprus specialises in the registration of International Business Companies (IBCs) and Cyprus holding companies, formerly known as offshore companies." - http://www.registercypruscompany.com/contact/ and so is fake their .us "operational headquarters" address (3500 South DuPont Highway Dover, DE 19901) which belongs to http://www.incserv.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=info.headquarter

    edit.
    Ah, @justinb already said that. Sorry.

    Tim, how is Life treating you today, buddy?

  • @Spirit hmm, that company provides something like a business address for companies or something? I can't understand what they are doing. Same with the Cyprus company, they set up shell companies in Cyprus for you? I'm confused.

  • Yes something like that I think. From what I understand you can register "virtual company" with virtual office.

    Tim, how is Life treating you today, buddy?

  • @birdie25 How did you find them?

    Prometeus.com & IperWeb.com Hosting Provider since 1997

  • @Spirit said: Yes something like that I think. From what I understand you can register "virtual company" with virtual office.

    Seems legit. It's not a fake address :P

  • @birdie25 said: It's not a fake address :P

    It's also not THEIR address. In my eyes it's fake address because they stated it as own headquarter address while they use just some virtual service address.

    Tim, how is Life treating you today, buddy?

  • Our operational headquarters are located at:
    Simplistic Corp, LLC.
    3500 South DuPont Highway
    Dover, DE 19901
    USA
    We welcome you to send your letters and other relevant documents to this address.

    Okay, it's not their address, but they allow correspondence to be sent there. I'll call that Incserv.com company and ask about them.

  • @Spirit i've just phoned INCserv.com, and they say that there isn't a company in the state of Delaware by that name. Odd

  • Thank you for letting us know though it doesn't really surprise me.

    Tim, how is Life treating you today, buddy?

  • KuJoeKuJoe
    Member

    @birdie25 said: There's always dispute if something goes south

    You paid with credit card right? If so make sure you have no money in your account when you do a chargeback.

    -Joe @ SecureDragon

  • @KuJoe said: You paid with credit card right? If so make sure you have no money in your account when you do a chargeback.

    I've paid with PayPal balance.

  • Anybody else able to access the website?

    Matt from SSD Nodes, Inc.

  • @SSDNodes omg your site is so pretty. Who designed it?

  • @Naruto said: @SSDNodes omg your site is so pretty. Who designed it?

    Thank you! We did most of it ourselves, the logo was recently redone (old logo screenshot: http://www.lowendbox.com/media/images/ssdnodes.jpg)

    Matt from SSD Nodes, Inc.

  • You should also do web design, then. Perhaps offer free templates to other providers but watermark like every-single-image with your site, haha.

  • @SSDNodes do you do design work or just your own site?

    DotVPS.net Unmanaged Hosting Solution

  • @Naruto said: You should also do web design, then. Perhaps offer free templates to other providers but watermark like every-single-image with your site, haha.

    @DotVPS said: @SSDNodes do you do design work or just your own site?

    @Naruto That's a great idea, but my real passion is systems administration. Doing the design work was very tedious and I'd rather focus my energy on providing better service. If I had limitless time, I would absolutely consider it :)

    @DotVPS Just for our site. Unfortunately web design is very tedious and requires almost as much work as developing an infrastructure :/

    Matt from SSD Nodes, Inc.

  • Okay then.

    DotVPS.net Unmanaged Hosting Solution

  • @SSDNodes - Well, if you ever deadpool there is another market out there for ya'.

  • @Naruto you make some silly posts you know...

    DotVPS.net Unmanaged Hosting Solution

  • @Naruto said: @SSDNodes - Well, if you ever deadpool there is another market out there for ya'.

    @Naruto Ouch :)

    Matt from SSD Nodes, Inc.

  • @birdie25 said: I've paid with PayPal balance.

    Did they ever finish provisioning your order?

    AsuraHosting - Unmanaged VPS Services at an Affordable Price starting at $4/month.

  • From the looks of the topic on WHT, it was a scam.

  • @Legendlink said: From the looks of the topic on WHT, it was a scam.

    Ah dang... that's pretty dumb; I think the chance of him actually getting any money with his scam is pretty slim. >_> Odd scam.

    AsuraHosting - Unmanaged VPS Services at an Affordable Price starting at $4/month.

  • @AsuraHosting said: Common scam.

    Fixed. You get used to these around here.

    Dropped the address into google maps. Looks like a bar or restaurant.

  • @drmike said: Looks like a bar..

    Or barn.

    Tim, how is Life treating you today, buddy?

  • @SSDNodes said: We did most of it ourselves

    This might be of interest to you if you did the design.. http://albahost.co.uk/. Might be ripped.

    Regards, -Infinity | I hate winters.. It's so cold!

  • They got it from xprip :D

  • @Spirit said: Or barn.

    Don;t look like any barn I've even seen. Looks like some of the BBQ restaurants around here actually.

  • @drmike said: Don;t look like any barn I've even seen.

    Yeah, maybe but I was serious. I never saw such BBQ restaurants in my part of Europe and it really remind me on barn or abandoned warehouse but then again, building styles are different from location to location.

    Tim, how is Life treating you today, buddy?

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion